The Unfound

Featured Art Contributed byย Neha Das

My arms were to feed on meaningful things – no bills, no quarters, no buns for that matter. Nothing inherited, no heart and so no aches. An unconventional seafarer, Mama – I would have been too tired to swim, not arrogant to float upon the saddled currents. If you were a star that jumped into the sea earlier. Then would I have sparkled, giving it back to the sky somehow – calm, free.

**

My days, fearless

Ceaselessly careless

Purposeful than planned

I would have been a-

Pacifier to itinerant vagaries

My glides, uncharted

Seeping towards anemone carpet

far-flung, in mood carnival

I would have been a-

Preacher to lazing barnacles

My steps, shallowed

On sands sallowed

Fumbled on cannibals and sandcastles

I would have been-

Wallowing, upon a two-faced pier

My existence, placid

Not tied, to relations flaccid

Serendipitous affair, it bled no fear

Only if – you were a starfish, Mama,

One to comfort my clumsy tentacles.

**

ยฉSoumyadeep Mukherjee, 2017.

12 thoughts on “The Unfound

  1. I’ve been introduced to your words a long time back and you never once failed to surprise me. Beautifully crafted. ๐Ÿ’•

    Like

Leave a Reply

